1(800) 688-1317
Call Now! 1(800) 688-1317

Read what people are saying
about Precision Garage Door

Precision Garage Door of Washington DC Maryland Suburbs
has received 20 reviews, averaging 1.00 Stars:
Review:

Technician called ahead to advise arrival time-was courteous and knowledgeable. Repair was done in a timely manner. Thought labor was a bit high.
Liz Kreutzberg
Barry C Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
Technicians:
Review:

Garage door was working prior to repair. Door need a broken spring replaced which they replaced but the opener stopped functioning after the repair. Was told the capictor was bad and then told have to replace complete garage opener. Totally dissatified and wpuld not use this service again. The chains were left hanging in garage.
Abu Hatim
A Response from: Harry

We are continuing to try to resolve this issue with you. Thank you for your comments.

Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
Product:
Springs
Review:

I am totally dissatisfied with the service of your company and would not recommend your company to any family members, colleagues, associates or friends. Thank you
Lewin Williams
A Response from: Harry

We hope we were able to discuss your concerns and rectify the situation.

Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
Review:

This used to be the only garage door business I would deal with, so I have no idea what has happened. I have paid for two visits, the first (April 25th) I was told all I needed was lube (he didn't even do that) The second (May 16th), the technician made up three reasons for my issue... 1) a "jerker", 2) breaking in (over 5 years old), and 3) "sleep mode" (a total lie). I have now been charged for TWO visits, and my garage door STILL isn't repaired! Service performed: 1st time, absolutely NOTHING. Second time, 1 spring (of two) turned 1/2 turn.
Dewey Watkins
A Response from: Harry

Thank you for allowing us to correct this situation. In the future, please call and ask for the manager, if you are not completely satisfied. We will make it right.

Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Repair
Review:

I will never use this company again: Yesterday 9 March 2015 I had a service call for a garage door and opener that had been installed by Precision in April 2014. Originally they did a great job on the install so I felt good about calling them for the repair. I had to pay a service charge of $50 just for a technician to show up. He found that the idler pulley for my garage door opener was broken. Then he told me he "didn't have one on the truck". Really? A garage door company doesn't have a pulley?. However, he would replace my entire mount and pulley for an additional $75. I sensed a scam, so I said No and sent him packing. It turns out you can buy this pulley on-line for under $10, and my regular handyman swapped it in for me, and the door works again. Here's an alternate scenario: If Precision had charged $50 to cover the trip and the first half hour labor, and $20 for the pulley, I would have paid without complaining. It was the attempt to con me into paying for a bigger job that pissed me off. Enjoy that $50, because it is the last money you are getting from me, on any of my 4 garages.
F. Verter
A Response from: Harry

Our manager tried to talk with you about this, but was not able to help you to understand. The "fix" that you wanted will hurt the integrity of the door. We are glad that you got the door working, but do hope you do not have further problems.

Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Repair
Product:
Rollers
Review:

I was charged $215 to re-hang my motor and make some adjustments. How do you justify that cost? I feel like I got duped.
Chalanya Pelham
A Response from: Charan

We will try to contact you to explain the costs and the justification for the pricing. We strive to have happy customers. Thank you for your business.

Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Repair
Product:
Opener
Review:

Although the service was good it was VERY expensive, Over $500 for 2 new springs, rollers and cable on one door.... the parts cost about $150 max, the serviceman was only at my home one hour. I couldn't even get the $50 service charge credited. Merry Christmas
Linda Goodman
A Response from: Charan

Thank you for allowing us to explain the costs to you, along with the work that was done. We will do a better job of explaining that at the time of service.

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Product:
Springs
Review:

I scheduled an appointment and they came when they wanted and I wasn't there. Precision needs to work on there Communication skills. I spoke with the owner and he also stated that he would give me a call back and he never did....Unfortunately, I will not be using them again.
Kimberly Shuler
A Response from: Charan

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to talk with you. Our technician called on the way, but your voicemail was full. He also came by your house when our manager called you to be told you wanted to be called at the other number. Our technician made two trips to your home. You will need to reschedule for a time you can be home. Thank you.

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Review:

Alan showed up 2 hours late. I contacted the main office 30 minutes after their scheduled window, she said he had a flat and would be there in an hour. 30 minutes later, Alan called and said he'd be there in an hour. Alan got out of his van and was on my property for less than a minute and said that the springs and entire system as well as door were shot and it would be cheaper for me to replace everything ($800 per door). I told him I wasn't in the position to buy 2 new garage doors and needed to do the minimum to get me through a few months and set aside money for replacements. He said $500-$600 and walked towards his van. He also said he wasn't going to charge me the "service fee." He would do me a favor and call it in as a sales call. Alan never removed a tool from his truck and was clearly uninterested in doing work on a Friday afternoon. I had an alternate, local contractor complete the repairs today. $65 cable and $65 trip charge, spring was still in good shape. Contractor said the door was at the end of its life, but should last about a year. I will be using them for the replacement, not Precision. If I could give less than 1 star, I would. It was a complete waste of a 1/2 day off work to wait for these jokers.
Justin mackovyak
A Response from: Charan

We apologize for the technician being so late. As you can imagine, we cannot anticipate difficulties that arise. Unfortunately, the doors were in need of replacement. Repairing them would not have been the best option at this time. Thank you for understanding.

Service Provided:
Install Garage Doors
Review:

I was grossly overcharged for this service! If I had the time to compare services and prices I would have selected another company. The only reason I selected this company was because you could come the same day and I needed to go to work. Perhaps I can gain some opinions on Faceboook and Twitter.
Bettina Jackson
A Response from: Charan

As you can see on Angieslist, Home Advisor and this website, our customers love doing business with Precision. We appreciate your business. Our prices are a little higher than others because we use only high quality materials and parts. Thank you.

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Product:
Springs
Review:

Very happy with new garage door opener. Barry did a Fantastic job. He's great. Friendly, knowledgeable and Professional. About 6 months after install, heard some noise - - thought we might need a possible tune-up. Barry came by to check it out. For some reason we could not replicate the sounds. Barry was at my home for 5 minutes. He was not going to charge me but apparently the bosses wife insisted. Cost me $50 for nothing. Barry was great! But upper management has some customer service issues.
David Roe
A Response from: Charan

Thank you for your review and your kind words about Barry. The reason you were charged a service call was for Barry's time and the fuel it takes to come to your home. Had you called us prior to his arrival to say that you were not experiencing a problem, there would be no service charge. Barry's schedule is very full, and we have to pay him for his time and travel. Thank you for understanding. We appreciate your business.

Barry C Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Repair
Product:
Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Technicians:
Review:

Technician did nothing to examine opener just gave a high estimate for replacing garage opener. This did not set well with themind of service we were looking for. We will turn to a respectable supplier.
william patterson
A Response from: Charan

thank you for allowing us to explain that the opener you had did not have parts made any longer. Hence the recommendation for a new opener.

Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Repair
Review:

Let's first start off with my scheduled time for my appointment, it was between 11am and 1pm on April 2, 2014 by 12:40 I had not received a call from the Tech or a representative of Precision Garage doors. I called Precision to ask if I was still on the schedule for my appointment I was told that the GM would give me a call back and he personally would come out to fix my garage door. I then received an email thanking me for my business and if my garage was serviced to my liking, but remember no one had not shown up yet.. At 1:25 Tech Alan T finally shows up to fix the door, I was quoted over the phone a price of $49.00 for the service fee and that the spring would be between $90.00 to $200.00 the tech quoted me $560 to fix the door!!!!! I informed the Tech that I had to leave for work at 1:45 he told me that he wished I had called the company back to tell them this so he wouldn't had to drive ALL THE WAY ACROSS TOWN! So if you do decide to use precision make sure you have the hole day to wait at home and wait a inflated quote, and the GM that will never call you back, by the way it's 10:30 pm on April 2, 2014 and I'm still waiting for this call!
Landlord: Loneryl Burns
A Response from: Charan

So glad we were able to resolve this for you.

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Product:
Springs
Review:

I did not have the work performed. From the discussion with Melissa on the phone, despite my very clear description of my door and springs, and asking for an estimate she was intentionally vague and gave an estimate of $250 max. When the service staff member arrived (he was genuine - good guy and no fault of his) he said we recommend replacing both springs, which is what I wanted, at $190 each + a ball joint (?) so it will be $515... classic bait and switch... get in my house w/ vague phone quote of $250 and bump to $515 in person and I'll do it? NO! I will not have Precision door install the springs. Even if it SHOULD cost $600, if another vendor is honest with the estimate ON THE PHONE - 1ST CALL, I'll pay it. You guys are GOUGING people at $515... the springs shouldn't cost me any more than $88 (http://www.homedepot.com/s/garage%2520springs%2520.218?NCNI-5). I need two winding bars ($30) and some instructions...http://ddmgaragedoors.com/index.php Labor? $90 an hour. So the whole job shouldn't be more than $200 to $250 for 40 minutes work?
Brent Pettis
A Response from: Charan

It is difficult for the person who answers the phone to see what is actually wrong with your door. Our technicians are trained to diagnose and repair the door. We certainly do not recommend any work that is not needed. As always, it is your decision to have the work completed. You also need to know that all springs are different, and do not hold up with the integrity of the springs we use. Thank you for sharing your concerns

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Review:

I found Precision Door Service on Google. I was impressed by what I saw online. However I chose not to do business with them because of the unprofessional attitude the technician (Alan) displayed when he came out to inspect the garage door. I called Precision Door Service to request a tech to look at the door because of some minor damage to the door that was caused by the opener that wasn't installed correctly by the builders and over time it cause too much stress on the unsupported part of the door and consequently it was not closing all the way. When Alan came out to look at it he did not take the time to inspect it but instead he imediately tried to sell me a new door without any offering any other options. He said that he'd been doing this for quite a while and that the only option was to purchase a new door. I started asking questions about it because he didn't explain to my satisfaction his reasoning for recomending replacing the door and not trying to repair the door. As a result of that experience I chose another company to look at it and found out that all it required was to reinforce the the door so that the stress of the opener was placed on a more solid part of the door so that it could shut all the way. If this is the attitude of all of your technicians I think you should provide better training for your technicians so that in the future you won't lose business due to lack of training and professionalism.
Ronald Holmes
A Response from: Charan

In talking with our technician, there were a few items that we should have made a little more clear to you. Your door was not in good shape, and two sections needed to be replaced. Alan recommended a new door, and he contacted our door consultant to speak with you. You were given a special discounted price for a new door, of which you offered $475 less. We could not match that price, so you chose not to purchase. That is totally fine with us, but you contacted another company with provided you with a "temporary fix". We are not the lowest priced company, and recommend the necessary repairs/replacements for a safely working door, rather than just get our foot in the door to make a sale.

Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
Review:

I called on Thursday and made an appointment for Friday afternoon. The tech came close to 4, tried to sell us two springs instead of 1 and then said he didn't have the equipment to fix garage and could return Monday. My husband took off work on Friday, so he lost time at work, and we didn't have a working garage all weekend. Monday, the tech, Alan arrived also close to 4 and fixed the garage. He too offered 2 springs instead of one. He sympathized with me that Brian should have fixed it on Friday but didn't offer me any discount. I called the company main phone and got the $49 fee waived myself. The entire cost was $433 ($269 for the spring alone). I believe it was too high of a price to replace the spring and had we not already lost three days, we would have found someone else. I'm not pleased with the cost or initial service from this company.
Jennifer Hammond
A Response from: Charan

Thank you for your comments. We did waive your service fee, due to the inconvenience. While it is your money, it is our recommendations that only replacing one spring is not the safest way to go.

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Product:
Springs
Review:

Your cost to replace my overhead garage door motor for $500.00 is just crazy compared to Sears and Lowes.
Dalous Miller
A Response from: Charan

While we appreciate your comments, I would like to take a moment to inform you that the cost of our operators include professional installation, and warranty. The openers we sell are top-guality. We do appreciate that you need to make decisions about the money you spend.

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Review:

The price quote was outrageously high with no guarantee that the service will solve the problems. A total waste of our time and ~$50 of service visit fee!
Stephen Kung
A Response from: Charan

Barry gave you an estimate for a rebuild. You stated you had a quote from Home Depot for a new door. We understand that it is your money, but we hope you explained to the rep at Home Depot that you have an 18 foot door, with low headroom and need supports. That is a special order door, and will take extra means to install. We wish we could have been able to help you understand that when our technician was there. Good luck with your project.

Barry C Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Product:
Springs
Technicians:
Review:

I am VERY disappointed with the experience I had. I was given an appointment time range between 10:00 am and 12:00. The technician arrived at 2:35. He walked to the garage door and as soon as I lowered the door, he said it would cost me $75.00. He sprayed some WD-40 and touched something on the garage door opener. I asked him repeatedly if that was going to fix the problem of the door going back up automatically instead of staying down when lowered. He said I needed to put WD-40 on it about every two weeks. I asked him what the $29.99 charge was for and was told that was just for him showing up. Before he drove away, I informed him that the door was still doing what I had originally made the call about. He then came back and lowered the door. It stayed down that time. He then told me that if I got tired of what it was doing I could call your company back and he would take $75.00 off the 500 dollar plus cost of replacing the motor. I feel that this was a rip-off. I still am not comfortable that my garage door will remain closed. I was charged 104 dollars for less than 10 minutes of service and the door is still not satisfactorily repaired. I will not contact this company again.
Artelia Covington
A Response from: Charan

Thank you for your comments, and allowing us to discuss this with you. A refund was sent to you. We want our customers to be happy, and may have been lax in explaining everything to you. We look forward to doing business with you in the future.

Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
Review:

I called Precision Doors yesterday to replace a broken torsion spring. I was told by Harry that it would cost between $169 to $179 per spring, plus a $30 service charge. A technician arrived on the same day and performed a quick and proffesional replacement of both springs, however I was charged for this job $525 rather than max of $388 as I was quoted on the phone. I had not much choice because my wife's car was trapped inside the garage, and had to agree. The technician (Barry) told me that the phone quotes are low to get the work and he has to explain later to customers why the actual cost is much higher... I do not find this practice acceptable. Be careful when dealing with this company!
Adam Rosen
A Response from: Charan

Thank you for your comments. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction, and do not offer lower prices on the phone to get the job. Our prices are set by me, and the technicians have the freedom to discuss with me if they need to be adjusted. This did not happen in your case, and a partial refund was mailed. I would appreciate an updated review since this matter has been resolved. Thank you.

Barry C Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Technicians: